SCC president to receive Phi Theta Kappa honor

Scott Community College President Ann Lawler is among 20 college presidents who will be honored with the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Honor Society’s Paragon President Award.

Ms. Lawler, who began her presidency at SCC in October 2020, and her fellow honorees will receive the award this spring during PTK Catalyst 2022, the society’s annual convention in Denver, Colorado. She was selected from among 426 college presidents, chancellors and CEOs eligible to receive this award. 

To be eligible, college presidents and CEOs must be new in their role – less than three years in their positions. Recipients are nominated by students on their campuses and may only receive the award once. 

“Student support and success were always my priorities during my 32 years in the classroom and I made it my mission to continue those goals when I moved into administration,” Ms. Lawler said. 

“During COVID, it has been especially important to let students know we are here to help them succeed,” she added. “To have students recognize that mission, and then take the time to nominate me for those efforts, makes this award that much more meaningful. I’m so pleased they see how valued they and their academic goals are by all of us at Scott Community College.” 

The award recognizes college leaders who have shown support of student success initiatives leading to stronger pathways to completion, transfer and employment. Honorees have demonstrated an active interest in supporting high-achieving students and developing student leaders on campus.

PTK is the premier honor society recognizing the academic achievement of students at associate degree-granting colleges. Made up of more than 3.8 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in 11 countries, PTK has nearly 240,000 active members in the nation’s colleges. Learn more at


Get the free QCBJ email newsletter

Stay up-to-date with the people, companies and issues that impact business in the  Quad Cities area.